CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

each sovereign in its own sphere. The provincial governments are not subordinate to the federal, but in their own spheres are perfectly independent. In the case of Canada the practice of constitutional parliamentary government was thoroughly established as the fundamental law long before the date of the political union of the provinces, and so the same continued in both the federal and provincial spheres after the union was effected.

Representation of Provinces.—The Dominion of Canada, now a federal union of nine provinces, viz., Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia, controls all the rest of the territory of Canada, governing it either through local commissions and councils or directly through the Governor-General in Council. Each of the above named provinces has its own Governor, Executive Council (or Cabinet) and Legislature, as established by the British North America Act, or by virtue of powers contained therein, or by subsequent Imperial Acts. These provinces are represented in the Federal Parliament as follows, viz., in 1914:

Province	Senators	Members of the House of Commons
	No.	No.
Prince Edward Island	4	4
Nova Scotia	10	18
New Brunswick	10	13
Quebec	24	65
Ontario	24	86
Manitoba	4	10
Saskatchewan	4	10
Alberta	4	7
British Columbia	3	7
Yukon Territory	_	1
Total	87	221

The Yukon Territory, though not a province, is an electoral district and returns one member to the House of Commons. The total number of senators in 1914 was therefore 87 and the total number of members of the House of Commons 221.

Representation Act, 1914.—The result of the census of 1911 necessitated a redistribution of the representation in the House of Commons under the provisions of the British North America Act. In 1914, therefore, an Act was passed styled the "Representation Act, 1914," which will come into force upon the dissolution of the present parliament. This provides that the House of Commons in the ensuing parliament shall consist of 234 members, of whom 3 shall be elected from Prince Edward Island, 16 from Nova Scotia, 11 from New Brunswick, 65 from Quebec, 82 from Ontario, 15 from Manitoba, 16 from Saskatchewan, 12 from Alberta, 13 from British Columbia